University of Oregon


In 2006 UNESCO (United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization) approved the first-ever American Chair in UNESCO’s Intercultural Dialogue Program. The following year, Professor Steven Shankman was named UNESCO Chair for Transcultural Studies, Interreligious Dialogue, and Peace at the University of Oregon. The UNESCO Chair promotes research, teaching, and community engagement in transcultural studies, interreligious dialogue, and the pursuit of peace. The Chair facilitates collaboration between the University of Oregon and the other Chairs in the UNITWIN network on Interreligious Dialogue for Intercultural Understanding. UNITWIN is the abbreviation for UNESCO’s university twinning and networking system. There are currently twenty Chairs worldwide in UNESCO’s Intercultural Dialogue Program.

In September 2008, the Center for Intercultural Dialogue, where the UNESCO Chair resides, was established.


Skip to toolbar