Keynotes | Plenaries

Ivan Sutherland, Visiting Scientist & ACM Fellow
Asynchronous Research Center, Co-Founder
Portland State University
A.M. Turing Award, Laureate
IEEE John von Neumann Medal, Recipient
National Academy of Sciences, Member
National Inventor’s Hall of Fame, Inductee
Eliza Canty-Jones, Editor
Oregon Historical Quarterly
Community Engagement, Director
Oregon Historical Society
Oregon Women’s History Consortium, Co-founder & Past President
George Dyson, Science Historian and Author
“The Dawn of Computing,” Nature, Commentator
“AI That Evolves in the Wild,”, Contributor
Independent Scholar
Farrar, Straus & Giroux, Analogia: The Entangled Destinies
of Nature, Human Beings and Machines
[August 2020]
___ André Brock, Associate Professor
School of Literature, Media, and Communication
Ivan Allen College of Liberal Arts
Georgia Institute of Technology (Georgia Tech)
Center for Critical Race & Digital Studies, Charter Member
New York University (NYU)
Zizi Papacharissi, Department Head and Professor
Communication Department
Political Science Department, Professor
University of Illinois at Chicago
Social Media & Society, Editor-in-Chief
Journal of Broadcasting & Electronic Media, Editor
___ Mark Burgin, Visiting Scholar
Department of Mathematics
University of California, Los Angeles (UCLA)
Information, Founding Editor-in-Chief
New York Academy of Sciences, Member
Carol Stabile, Associate Dean for Strategic Initiatives
Women’s, Gender and Sexuality Studies, Professor
College of Arts and Sciences
Clark Honors College, Faculty in Residence
University of Oregon
Reanimate: Recovering Media Histories, Co-Director
David Ribes, Associate Professor
Department of Human Centered Design & Engineering
Department of Comparative History of Ideas, Interdisciplinary Member
Data Then and Now Speaker Series & Reading Group, Co-Director
eScience Institute, College of Engineering, Affiliate
University of Washington
Divina Frau-Meigs, Professor
Information and Communication Science
Center for Research on the English-speaking World, Member
Université Sorbonne Nouvelle – Paris 3, France
UNESCO Savoir-devenir in Sustainable Digital Development, Chair
Colin Koopman, Associate Professor
Department of Philosophy | Ethics Minor, Director
New Media & Culture Certificate Program, Director
Center for Cyber Security & Privacy, Affiliated Member
Digital Scholarship Center, Member at Large
University of Oregon
___ Dan Schiller, Professor Emeritus
School of Library & Information Science
Department of Communication
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Sandra Rendgen, Author and Editor
Head of Design
Infographics Group GmbH, Berlin, Germany
Princeton Architectural Press, The Minard System
Taschen, History of Information Graphics
Data Stories [podcast], Producer
___ Brewster Kahle, Founder and Digital Librarian
Wayback Machine, Co-founder
Board of Directors, Chair
Internet Archive
Kahle/Austin Foundation, Co-founder
___ Yaneer Bar-Yam, Physicist and President
Complex Systems Science
New England Complex Systems Institute (NECSI)
MIT Media Lab, Research Scientist
Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT)
Department of Molecular & Cellular Biology, Past Visiting Scholar
Harvard University