Spring Racing Season

The Oregon Rowing team is training for its final regatta of the spring racing season–the ACRA National Championship in Gainesville, Georgia (5/26 – 5/27). This will mark the team’s second appearance in as many years at this highly competitive regatta. Oregon is eager to represent the university, which it has done successfully throughout the spring.

On its home course at the Covered Bridge Regatta (4/14), Oregon placed third in both the men’s varsity and novice eights. Oregon also entered two varsity fours on the men’s side, finishing second and third. For the women, the JV and novice eights both finished fourth.

Complete results of the Covered Bridge Regatta

At the WIRA Championship in Sacramento (4/28 – 4/29), Oregon peaked at the right time. After a slow start to the season, the men’s varsity eight raced in the Grand Finals, finishing in 6:39, its fastest mark of the year. The novice eight also earned a season PR with 6:43.4.

On the women’s side, the pair made an impressive showing. WIRA was the duo’s first appearance, but they performed as if they had been rowing together all season. After qualifying for the Grand Finals, they finished with a time of 8:53.7. The novice eight also performed well. Qualifying for the Petite Final, the women shaved over 13 seconds off their mark from their earlier preliminary race.

Complete WIRA Championship Results

Oregon rowers did not have much time to reflect on the WIRA Championship, as training began for ACRA just two days later. With only one week to go before the national club championship, Oregon has intensified its training regimen. The team will be entering four boats. A novice four will be representing the women. A novice eight, varsity four and lightweight four will round out the men’s team. Although crews from across the nation will be competing in this regatta, Oregon rowers are confident they will reach their potential against worthy opponents. In 2011 they did just that, coming away with a silver and bronze medal in the men’s varsity single and women’s varsity four, respectively.

Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.