Dissertation Awards


Through the efforts and donation of former President Douglas Jones of Ohio State University, along with past presidents and recipients of the Distinguished Members Award, an annual award has been funded for the best dissertation in transportation and public utilities. To be considered for the award, candidates’ Ph.D. dissertations should be forwarded to the President by June 30.


2018       Taylor McKenzie, University of Oregon.  ““Railroads, Their Regulation, and Its Effect on Efficiency and Competition”

2017       Richard Boampong, University of Florida “Residential Energy Consumers Response to energy Efficiency Rebates, Incentives, and Prices.”

2016       Timothy Wang, University of California – Irvine, ““Econometric Models in Transportation.”

2015      David P. Brown, University of Florida, “Three Essays on Market Power in Restructured Electricity Markets.”

2013       Jonathan Hall, University of Chicago, Pareto Improvements from Lexus Lanes: The effects of pricing a portion of the lanes on congested highways”

David G. Ripplinger, North Dakota State University

2010       Nongluk Buranabunyut, University of Wisconsin – Milwaukee.   “Incentive Regulation and Allocative Efficiency: Evidence from the U.S. Telecommunications Industry,”

2003       Hugh Turner, University of Maryland.  “”Infrastructure Productivity in the North American Containerport System: A Longitudinal Study (1984-1997)”,

2002       Erin Mansur, University of California – Berkeley, “Environmental Regulation in Oligopoly Markets”