What is NWBIO?

NWBIO (Northwest Biology Instructor’s Organization) began in 1966 as a way to facilitate dialogue between faculty of Washington State community colleges, universities, and private four-year colleges, on pedagogical and scientific problems in the field of biology. Originally called WACBT (Washington Association of College Biology Teachers), NWBIO now includes additional faculty from British Columbia, Oregon, and Northern Idaho.

Annual Conference Locations and Hosts:

2018 Portland CC
2017 University of Washington, Tacoma & Tacoma CC
2016 Lane CC and University of Oregon, Eugene,Oregon
2015 University of British Columbia Vancouver, BC
2014 Bellevue Community College
2013 Pasco, Columbia Basin College
2012 Everett Community College
2011 Yakima Valley Community College
2010 Ocean Shores, Grays Harbor College
2009 Astoria, Clatsop Community College
2008 Salem, Chemeketa Community College
2007 Pack Forest, Edmonds Community College
2006 Bainbridge Island, Bellevue Community College
2005 Gresham, Mt Hood Community College
2004 Tacoma, Tacoma Community College and University of Washington-Tacoma
2003 Yakima, Yakima Valley Community College
2002 Bremerton, Olympic College? and North Seattle Community College
2001 Vancouver, WA, Clark College
2000 Vancouver, B.C., Langara College and the University of British Columbia
1999 Eugene, Lane Community College and the University of Oregon
1998 Seattle, Seattle Central CC and Seattle Pacific University
1997 Everett, Everett CC and University of Washington
1996 Aberdeen, Grays Harbor CC
1995 Portland, Mt Hood CC and Portland CC
1994 Spokane Falls, Spokane Falls CC and Washington State University
1993 Camp Waskowitz, North Seattle CC and Bellevue CC
1992 Ellensburg, Yakima Valley CC and Central Washington University
1991 Camp Casey, Shoreline CC and Skagit Valley CC
1990 Cispus, Lower Columbia CC
1989 Cheney, Eastern Washington University
1988 Abbotsford, B.C., Fraser Valley College
1987 Pack Forest, Seattle University
1986 Everett, Everett CC
1985 Moses Lake, Big Bend CC
1984 Castlegar, B.C., Selkirk College
1983 Lake Wilderness, University of Washington
1982 Sunquist Lab, Skagit Valley CC
1981 Fort Wright, Spokane CC
1980 Gwinwood, The Evergreen State College
1979 Camp Casey, Seattle Pacific University
1978 Cispus, Centralia College and Central Washington University
1977 Battelle Northwest, Columbia Basin CC
1976 Camp David, Peninsula CC
1975 Camp Seymour, Tacoma CC
1974 Gonzaga Retreat House, Spokane Falls CC
1973 Pack Forest, Highline CC
1972 Roche Harbor, Bellevue CC
1971 Lake Quinalt,Grays Harbor CC
1970 Camp Field, Wenatchee Valley College
1969 Hidden Valley Ranch, Green River CC
1968 Everett, Everett CC
1967 Stehekin, Shoreline CC
1966 Rosario Beach, Shoreline CC and Everett CC