Jeremy Swartz, PhD

NSF/HHMI Scientific Teaching Fellow
Research Associate

Office: By appointment
Cities: Eugene and Portland


Dr. Jeremy Swartz is a scholar and 2018-2019 fellow whose current research focuses on science, technology and society, especially patterns and relationships among communication, technology/media, biology, ecology, and complex systems science. He recently co-organized the 44th conference of the International Association for Media and Communication Research (IAMCR), entitled Reimagining Sustainability, bringing 1,000 international and national scholars to campus. Another area of Swartz’s research is communication and curation as repair and melioration, which draws on his background in cognitive science, media history, communication law and ethics, civic repair, embodied aesthetics and the philosophy of language.

He is the founder of Metamedia @ UofO, and has collaborated with The Royal Collection Trust, XVIVO Scientific Animation, NW Film Center/Portland Art Museum, Jordan Schnitzer Museum of Art, Wayne Lyman Morse United States Courthouse, and Portland Japanese Garden. Swartz co-directed a trilogy of conference-experiences at UO Portland on the themes of media (featured as part of the J-School’s centennial celebration), life, and universe — to be published in three volumes with Intellect Books/Univ. of Chicago Press. He has had the honor of curating exhibitions featuring Lynn Hershman Leeson, Michael A. Salter, Laura Fritz, Scott “Spot” Draves, Brenna Murphy, and Agatha Haines. Swartz has also served as associated faculty of the Institute of Cognitive and Decision Sciences facilitating the focus group on communication, complexity, and sustainability, Wayne Morse Center for Law and Politics committees, and the UO Research Cyberinfrastructure Advisory Group.

Education | UO

  • 2017-2018 Postdoctoral Scholar
  • 2016-2017 Postdoctoral Fellow
  • PhD, Communication and Society
  • MS, Interdisciplinary Studies
  • BA, Music—emphasis composition


  • Media & Society
  • Gateway to Media
  • Media History
  • Media Ethics
  • Communication Theory & Media Research
  • International Communication
  • Communication Law
  • Philosophy of Communication & Language
  • Ecologies of Media
  • Civic Media
  • Media Literacy

Honors and Awards

  • Glenn Starlin Endowed Fellowship in Telecommunication & Theatre Arts
  • Outstanding Doctoral Student Teaching Award
  • Kappa Tau Alpha National Honor Society