Carmelita Lamb

Professional Preparation

Texas A&M University Animal Science B.S. 1979

North Dakota State University Reproductive Physiology M.S. 1995

North Dakota State University Institutional Analysis/ Adult Ph.D. 2009

Occupational Education


University of Mary Department Chair Graduate and Distance Education, 2014-present

Turtle Mountain Community College, Department Chair, Teacher Education 2010-2014

Turtle Mountain Community College, Accreditation Steering Committee, 2011-2014

Dunseith Public High School-Secondary Science Teacher, 2000-2006

Most Relevant Publications

1. Lamb, C. “Growing our own: A sustainable approach to teacher education at Turtle Mountain Community College.” Tribal College Journal 26(2), 2014.

2. Contributing writer for Mellon Foundation Tribal College Research Publication Series (in press).

3. Lamb, C. (2013). American Indian Educators in Reservation Schools by Terry Huffman: Book Review. Tribal College Journal 25(2).

4. Lamb, C. “Turtle Mountain Teachers Train Change Agents.” Tribal College Journal 22(2), 2010.

3. Lamb, C. Native Ways of Knowing: The Student Perspective of Teacher Education in Tribal Colleges. Paper presented at Native American Indigenous Studies Association (NAISA) conference, Tucson, AZ. (May 2010).

4. Lamb, C. Cohort model learning communities: The tribal college perspective of best practices in teacher education. Paper presented at Native American Indigenous Studies Association (NAISA) Conference, Minneapolis, MN. (May 2009).

5. Marin, T. and C. Lamb. “From Turtle Mountains to the Badlands: Learning to Teach Native Ways of Knowing. Tribal College Journal 19(4), 2008.

6. Marin, T. and C. Lamb. “Using NASA Research to Teach Science in the Native Ways of Knowing Secondary Science Teacher Education Project.” The Earth Observer 19(2), 2007.

Synergistic Activities

1. Professional Organization Participation

North Dakota LEAD Board of Director (2015-present)

National Indian Education Association (2011-present)

North Dakota State University Doctoral Program in Education, Advisory Board Member (2010-present)

North Dakota Association of Colleges for Teacher Education, Member (2009-present)

Content Expert in Secondary Science for National Council for Accreditation of Teacher Education – NCATE (2010-present)

National Science Teachers Association (2009-present)

Native American Indigenous Studies Association (2009-present)

American Association for the Advancement of Science (2008-present)

Society for Advancement of Chicanos and Native Americans in Science (2007-present)

2. Sponsored Programs

Professional Development for Elementary Education-U.S. Department of Education (2011-present)

U.S. Department of Education Title III Coop Grant (2008-12)

NSF Native Ways of Knowing-Secondary Science Teacher Education Grant (2006-2011)

U.S. Department of Education Professional Development for Elementary Education (2008-2010)

3. Central Regional Advisory Committee, Central Region, U. S. Department of Education 2011-present

4. Poster and Paper Presentations

Native Ways of Knowing-secondary science teacher education project sponsored by the NSF, poster presented at the Joint Annual Meeting, Washington, D.C. (August 2007)

The phenomenon of stopping-out in American Indian post-secondary education, paper presented at the Higher Education Resources Organization Meeting, Bismarck, ND. (May 2006)

Collaborators and Co-Editors*: Eleanor Abrams (University of New Hampshire), Clarice Baker Big Back (Fort Berthold Community College), Carol Davis (North Dakota State University/EPSCoR), Stephen Hale (University of New Hampshire), Tibisay Marin (Turtle Mountain Community College), Leander McDonald (Cankdeska Cikana Community College-Academic Dean, United Tribes Technical College-President), Michael Middleton (University of New Hampshire), Robert Old Rock (Turtle Mountain Community College), Eloisa G. Tamez (University of Texas – Brownsville), Margo Tamez (University of British Columbia – Okanagan), Ruth Varner (University of New Hampshire), Janet Welk (North Dakota NCATE Director), Dr. Michael Pavel (Tuwaduq Cultural and Research Institute), Ella Inglebret (Washington State University), Barbara Brock (Creighton University), Elizabeth Reilly (Loyola Marymount University), Maher Ghalayini (Regis University).