Skip to Content

Grad Student Spotlight

« Previous Page  Page 2 of 4  Next Page »
July 8, 2016

Sage Bauers chosen for 2016 ITS Graduate Student Award

bauers,sageThe International Thermoelectric Society (ITS) has announced the recipients of the 2016 Graduate Student Awards.  Sage Bauers, a doctoral student in the David Johnson lab, was one three students selected for the award. The Graduate Student Awards are supported by ITS.

Recipients are nominated by their adivsors and must be Ph.D. graduate students, holding a Master Degree or its equivalent, that are actively engaged in theoretical, experimental, synthesis or device research in the field of thermoelectrics.


June 9, 2016

Gabriel Rudebusch’s Research Leads Way to Promising Synthetic Molecule




UO Chemistry and Biochemistry doctoral student Gabe Rudebusch has built a stable carbon-based molecule that offers properties that have been sought by scientists for a century, and has potential applications for devices such as transistors and solar cells.

Read more at AroundtheONature World News and Phys.Org

Adam Jansons Receives Dixon Graduate Student Innovation Award

Adam Jansons1UO Chemistry graduate student Adam Jansons has been named a recipient of the 2016 Julie and Rocky Dixon Graduate Innovation Award. Adamis a member of the Hutchison Lab group

The award is designed to support doctoral students who are interested in pursuing innovative experiences that will prepare them for careers outside of academia in areas including but not limited to industry, business, and the non-profit and government sectors.


April 25, 2016

6 Current UO Chemistry and Biochemistry Students & 3 Alumni chosen for 2016 NSF Awards and Honorable Mentions

L-R, UO Chemistry graduate students Lisa Eytel, Micah Donor, Aurora Ginzburg, Andrea Steiger, Mari Saif and Meredith Sharps

L-R, UO chemistry graduate students Lisa Eytel, Micah Donor, Aurora Ginzburg, Andrea Steiger,
Mari Saif and Meredith Sharps

When the National Science Foundation announced the 2016 awardees and honorable mentions for their Graduate Research Fellowship Program (GRFP), the University of Oregon Chemistry and Biochemistry Department had plenty of reasons to celebrate. Five University of Oregon chemistry graduate students were among the fellowship award recipients – Micah Donor, Aurora Ginzburg, Mari Saif, Meredith Sharps and Andrea Steiger – and one more grad student, Lisa Eytel, received an honorable mention.  In addition, two UO Chemistry and Biochemistry alumni also received awards, and a third alum received an honorable mention. (more…)

April 5, 2016

More Coverage for Chemistry Grad Students

innovation-1155994-1279x1119The Register Guard chats with UO Chemistry and Biochemistry’s Susan Cooper, Adam Jansons and Brandon Crockett about innovation, entrepreneurship and their University Innovation Fellowships with the National Science Foundation-funded Epicenter organization.

More at:

March 10, 2016

5 UO Students named University Innovation Fellows by NSF-funded Epicenter

Photo: grad students

L-R: Epicenter Fellows Susan Cooper, Brandon Crockett and Adam Jansons

University of Oregon chemistry graduate students Susan Cooper, Brandon Crockett, and Adam Jansons are among 155 students from 47 higher education institutions that have been named University Innovation Fellows by the National Center for Engineering Pathways to Innovation (Epicenter). Epicenter is an NSF-funded national program that trains student leaders to create new opportunities for their peers to engage with innovation, entrepreneurship, design thinking and creativity. (more…)

January 29, 2016

Susan Cooper Chosen for ARCS Award

photo Susan CooperUO Chemistry and Biochemistry graduate student Susan Cooper has been selected to receive the 2016 ARCS Foundation Josselyn Family Scholar Award.

The Achievement Rewards for College Students (ARCS) Foundation of Portland is one of sixteen ARCS Foundation Chapters nationwide.  Portland’s ARCS Foundation members are women philanthropists committed to advancing science in America. The chapter seeks to support and nurture young American women and men in doctoral programs as they prepare to take on current and future scientific and medical challenges. In February of 2015, ARCS Portland announced that the University of Oregon Department Chemistry and Biochemistry and Department of Biology had been approved for funding support from the chapter. Susan Cooper and Katja Kasimatis (Biology) are the first UO recipients of ARCS awards. The $18,000 unrestricted awards are payable over three years, at $6,000 per year. (more…)

November 3, 2015

Bailey/Prehoda Paper Examines Behavior of Enzyme Found in Human Cancers

A paper authored by UO Chemistry and Biochemistry grad student Matthew Bailey and faculty Kenneth Prehoda was published in the October issue of Developmental Cell.  Titled “Establishment of Par-Polarized Cortical Domains via Phosphoregulated Membrane Motifs,” the paper highlights how an enzyme that is mutated in many human cancers functions to organize molecules in healthy tissues.

Matthew is the 2015 recipient of the Peter Von Hippel Graduate Scholar Award.  The award seeks to recognize a senior PhD graduate student both for their outstanding performance in thesis research, and for their concern for fellow students and colleagues during their time at the University of Oregon.

Professor Prehoda is a biochemist and the current director of the Institute of Molecular Biology.

Read their paper at

September 16, 2015

RG Article Includes Video Link with some Familiar Faces

An article in Sunday’s Register Guard newspaper showcased local STEM education efforts, including a video with some familiar faces.

Look for Kory Plakos from the DeRose Lab and Jeremy Copperman from the Guenza Lab doing hands-on science with students at the Arts and Technology Academy (ATA) Middle School in Eugene School District 4j.


August 7, 2015

A Great Week of Chemistry for UO SAIL Participants!


Campers work on their battery design.

For the second summer in a row, UO Chemistry hosted a hands-on chem lab experience for local high school students participating in the university’s Summer Academy to Inspire Learning (SAIL) program.

The UO SAIL Chemistry Camp, organized by chemistry grad students Kara Nell and Blake Tresca, ran from July 27th-31st. The campers, all soon-to-be high school freshman, put on their goggles and analyzed water samples, created filters, tested the pH of of common household chemicals, and designed batteries using metal sulfate solutions. Be sure to check out our photos!

The Summer Academy to Inspire Learning (SAIL) is a University of Oregon program led by volunteer faculty and aimed at increasing students’ enrollment and success in college. SAIL invites eligible 8th through 12th grade students to attend free, annual academic summer camps until they graduate from high school.

SAIL Chemistry camp is sponsored by the Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry and UO Women in Graduate Sciences. Thanks to all the additional volunteers who helped make this years SAIL Chemistry camp a huge success: grad students Loni Kringle, Kimberly Jones, Kate Karfilis, Fern Bosada, Laura McWilliams, Aurora Ginzberg, Erik Hadland, Sarah Casper, Lisa Enman, Lisa Eytel, Anne Emig, and Nina Vincent.



« Previous Page  Page 2 of 4  Next Page »

Skip to toolbar