Skip to Content

Mac Flashback malware: What it is and how to get rid of it (FAQ)

An earlier version of the Flashback Trojan's installer. (Credit: Intego)


The Flashback Trojan is the latest malware attack to target Apple’s Mac platform. Here’s your guide to what it is, whether you have it, and how to get rid of it.

Apple’s Mac platform has long been promoted as safer than the competition, but as Mac sales and market share grow, it’s become a bigger target.

Nowhere is that clearer than with the Flashback Trojan, a gnarly piece of malware designed to steal personal information by masquerading as very mainstream browser plug-ins. Yesterday Russian antivirus company Dr. Web said that an estimated 600,000 Macs are now infected as a result of users unknowingly installing the software.

So here’s a quick FAQ on the Flashback Trojan, including information on what it is, how to tell if you have it, and steps you can take to get rid of it.

What exactly is Flashback?
Flashback is a form of malware designed to grab passwords and other information from users through their Web browser and other applications such as Skype. A user typically mistakes it for a legitimate browser plug-in while visiting a malicious Web site. At that point, the software installs code designed to gather personal information and send it back to remote servers. In its most recent incarnations, the software can install itself without user interaction.

Read the whole story by CNET.